Extended break

Though I had started a PS2 emulator, I had promised you guys that I would still be working on CorgiDS.

That hasn’t happened.

My big mistake was trying to sneak in GBA emulation in the v0.2 release as a surprise. Because the DS and GBA share the same hardware components, I thought it would be a simple task. It wasn’t, and the more I worked on GBA compatibility, the more stressed I became. I didn’t want to release a half-baked product; it had to be as good as possible, I thought to myself. Combine that with problems at work adding to my stress even more, and I stopped working on CorgiDS. Part of my desire to work on DobieStation in the first place was because I needed something else to occupy my time.

Now you might be thinking, “Why not just remove GBA functionality for now and work on it later?” I very well could do that. But, now that DobieStation is growing into something relatively serious, I don’t have the same motivation I once did.

So, CorgiDS is now officially on hiatus. Maybe I’ll revisit it again, but more likely I won’t. If I ever get the desire to work on a DS emulator again, my plans are just to create a new one that doesn’t have the messy codebase and amateur mistakes CorgiDS currently has (I’ll still name it CorgiDS, for lulz). Don’t count on it happening any time soon, if at all.

This wasn’t all for nothing, however; I’ve learned a lot about my favorite childhood console and how ugly it is beneath the shiny exterior. I’ve honed my skills not only as an emudev, but also a programmer in general. In the end, I never really did anything important for the DS emulation scene, but I’ve learned something. That’s what counts for me.

I have high hopes for melonDS. That emulator is going to be the one that changes the DS emulation scene for the better. So if you happen to be concerned about the status of CorgiDS, follow melonDS instead; it’s going places no DS emulator has ever gone before. 🙂

Thank you all for your support!

Leave a comment